Eosinophilic Asthma Resource Centre

Welcome, this website is intended for all international healthcare professionals. By clicking the link below you are declaring and confirming that you are a healthcare professional.

You are here

William Busse

  • William W. Busse is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and University of Wisconsin Medical School. Following an internship at Cincinnati General Hospital, he completed a residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Allergy and Immunology at the University of Wisconsin under the mentorship of Dr. Charles E. Reed. Dr. Busse has been on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin Medical School since 1974. He has served as head of the Allergy and Clinical Immunology Section (1978-2004) and George R. and Elaine Love Professor and Chair of Medicine (2005-2009). He is a diplomat of the American Board of Internal Medicine and American Board of Allergy and Clinical Immunology.

    Dr. Busse’s research interests have focused on the mechanism of asthma with particular interests in eosinophilic inflammation and rhinovirus-induced asthma for which he has had long-standing NIH support. He is also the Principal Investigator on an NIH-NIAID Inner City Asthma Consortium, which is funded to study immune-based therapy for asthma in inner-city children.
    Over the years, Dr. Busse has served on a number of committees. He was a director on the American Board of Allergy and Immunology (1989-1995). He was on the Advisory Council, National Institutes of Health, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (1996-2000). Dr. Busse was a member of the Expert Panel on the Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Asthma (1989, 2002), and is presently chair of this group, and a member of the Board of External Experts, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (2006-present). From 1994-2004, he was on the AAAAI Board of Directors and served as President of the AAAAI in 2000-2001.

    Dr. Busse has been a co-editor of the book Allergy: Principles and Practice and Asthma and Rhinitis. He was associate editor of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine (1997-1998) and associate editor of the Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (2002-2005). In 2001 he was elected into the Association of American Physicians. Dr. Busse received the Folkert Belzer Life Achievement Award in 2004, the American Thoracic Society Award for Scientific Accomplishments in 2005, the Citation Award for Achievement from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health in 2008, and in 2014 received the American Thoracic Society Foundation Breathing for Life Award.


Subscribe to our E-Alert to keep up to date with the new items in the Resource Centre.

Search this site

ERS 2017 Congress Highlights

Featured Video Presentation